Top 10 Weirdest Awards You Didn’t Know About

Each and every person yearns for an award. In practically every discipline, from literature to architecture, there are countless awards presented. And then there are certain prizes that are completely absurd in every way. They honour some amusing and exceptional accomplishments. They have captured the interest of the entire globe throughout the years and even sparked rivalry among individuals in an effort to obtain or stay away from them. The ten wackiest honours in the world are listed here

1. The Weirdest  Awards

The Darwin Awards, named after renowned scientist Charles Darwin, are presented posthumously to people who commit the ultimate sacrifice—death or sterilization—to preserve the gene pool. Simply said, it is presented to someone who passes away in the silliest possible manner. It was the idea of a group of persons in the mid 1980s, and Wendy Northcutt, a writer and researcher, spearheaded its formal launch in 1993. The Darwin Awards, a 2006 movie directed by Finn Taylor, was even based on the idea.

2. Ig Nobel Award

The Ig Nobel Prize was established in 1991 by the scientific comedy publication Annals of Improbable Research and is granted to seemingly absurd ideas that make us laugh and reflect. The awards ceremony is held at Harvard University’s Sanders Theater and includes ten categories. The sole recipient of both a Nobel Prize and an Ig Nobel Prize is Sir Andre Geim. He was awarded the Ig Nobel in 2000 and the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2010.

3. Foot in the Mouth Prize

The individual who makes the most perplexing remark each year is given the Foot in Mouth Award. It was granted by the publication the Plain English Campaign, which was founded in 1993. Ted Dexter, the chairman of the England Cricket team’s selectors at the time, received it first. Silvio Berlusconi, Gordon Brown, and Alicia Silverstone are among the other winners. The only person to have been chosen for the prize twice thus far is Welsh politician Rhodri Morgan. For his persistently perplexing utterances over the years, former American President George W. Bush was given a lifetime achievement award in 2008.

4. Ernie Awards

The Ernie Awards, presented in Australia, were first given in 1993 and are named for Ernie Ecob, a notoriously misogynistic former secretary of the Australian Workers’ Union. He even claimed once that ladies visit the shearing sheds for sex. In honour of his departure from the Labor Council of New South Wales, the inaugural award presentation was place. Since then, sexist remarks have been met with an annual award. The honour has been granted in a number of categories. Numerous famous persons have won the unwanted awards, including Tony Abbott and former Australian Prime Minister John Howard.

5. Bent Spoon Award

The most absurd allegation of a paranormal or pseudoscientific nature is given the Bent Spoon Award, which Australian Skeptics established in 1982. Only Australian nationals or those who do their business there are eligible for the prize. Tom Wards, a psychic, was the inaugural prize recipient. The prize trophy, which has not yet been seen by anybody, is said to be made of a piece of wood from Noah’s Ark that has a spoon from the Last Supper attached to it. The winners must get the trophy through occult methods, a mission that has yet to be completed. The spoon is bent by some incredible energy and gold-plated by an Atlantean technique.

6. Golden Collar Awards

Similar to the Academy Awards, but given to canines, are the Golden Collar Awards. To honour the top canine performers, the website Dog News Daily established it in 2012. Each year, prizes are offered in five categories. The winner will get a Simon Tavassoli-designed trophy that has an Italian leather collar set with Swarovski crystals. The award presentation is likewise based on the Oscars.

7. Award for Bad Sex in Fiction

This award, which is given annually to the writer who depicts a sex scene in a novel in the worst way imaginable, is sometimes referred to as the most despised literary accolade in Britain. Given by the British publication Literary Review, it was started in 1993 by literary critic Rhoda Koenig and Literary Review’s former editor Auberon Waugh. A nude lady is shown draping over an open book on the award souvenir. The award’s purpose is to deter insensitive sex imagery in contemporary writing. Melvyn Bragg was the first to get it for his book A Time to Dance. The award’s recipients include well-known authors including Philip Kerr, Ben Okri, Manil Suri, and Tom Wolfe.

8. Chart Award

Since its inception in 1978, the Diagram Prize has been granted annually to the book with the silliest title. It is named after the Diagram Group, a London-based information and graphics firm, and is officially known as the Diagram Group Prize for the Oddest Title of the Year. The Bookseller, a British trade publication concerning the publishing sector, presents the prize. Some of the winning books include Living with Crazy Buttocks, The Joy of Chickens, Oral Sadism and the Vegetarian Personality, Cooking with Poo, and Bombproof Your Horse. On The Bookseller’s website, a public vote determines the winner.

9. Pigasus Prize

The renowned American sceptic James Randi established the Pigasus Award in 1982. It is given to those who make ludicrous claims about paranormal and psychic activity. Typically, the prizes are revealed on April 1st. Prior to 1997, it was known as the Uri Trophy before being renamed the Pigasus prize. The fictitious trophy is made out of a paranormally bent steel spoon that is fastened to a clear plastic base.

10. The Weirdest Awards at the Big Brother Awards

The Big Brother awards, which are named after the fictional Big Brother character played by George Orwell in the classic novel Nineteen Eighty-Four, are presented to persons, governments, or organisations who violate peoples’ rights to privacy. Different human rights organisations offer the prizes, which have national variations in the US, UK, Japan, France, Spain, and Germany. The awards were created to draw attention to the government’ growing invasions of privacy.

Leave a Comment